Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Easier Way to Create GDL Objects

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am fairly new to AC and am trying to get a handle on creating objects similar to creating families in Revit. I opted for AC instead of Revit for multiple reasons (and I don't intend this to be a topic about that), but I need a fast way to grasp creating editable objects in 3d like tapered beams, open web trusses, etc. For example, I have a current issue trying to create an open web truss that is tapered. Using the truss maker is fine, but once an object is created (truss maker or not), I have to somehow edit the GDL to add hotspots to it (because the corners don't all line up with the eight default corners in 3d. Why is this so difficult? Is there a better way? Surely, I am missing it. I also totally accept that I should probably dive into the GDL scripting more. However, as a new user, and wanting to develop projects faster, the last thing I want to do is learn a (new) coding language. I appreciate all the documentation online about GDL and I accept all the benefits it provides, at least on the surface (smaller file sizes, etc). However, for people trying to get going with AC and make parametric objects quickly, it's a huge hurdle, at least for myself. Please advise and feel free to tell me I am totally missing something.

As a brief post script, the tertiary issue with this is that so many manufacturers make Revit files for their products, but AC has been left out from the vast majority of US products. Is this an issue for anyone else? How do we bring these objects into AC and make them beneficial? Is it even necessary? I have a Revit importer for such objects in AC now and they become the standard simple objects without any parametric settings. Ugh.
8 REPLIES 8
Barry Kelly
I am sorry to say that if you want to make parametric objects, then you will really have to learn GDL.