Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

GDL: 2D Object Origin

Lingwisyer
Guru

Hi all,

Is there a way to set the origin of a 2D object created from the floorplan? I am wanting to add the option of calling a custom symbol, but the origin is always the bottom left no matter the position of the original saved out elements when means it never sits in the corrected location when called.

At the moment you have to draw on (0, 0) then edit the generated script removing the ADD2 and MUL2 commands... It would be a lot more user friendly to not need to do the code modification...

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
10 REPLIES 10
Barry Kelly

If you are creating a 2D object from lines and fills in plan, I always move them to the Project Origin before saving as an object.

Place the point you want to use as the default base point position on the Project Origin.

i.e. centre it over the origin if you want the centre as the base point.

Then in the saved object 2D script, remove the first ADD2 command.

Archicad puts this ADD2 in to automatically set the bottom left corner as the base point.

Barry.

One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Frank Beister
Advisor

When you develop an object in floor plan and want to save it as an object, you should draw/model the components on the ground floor near the project zero point. You create the handles in 2D with fixed points/hotspots.

When you have placed the finished object, you can select the anchor in the settings dialog in the preview window by a click on the hotspots/cross (anchor = square).