Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

Incomprehensible grammar problem

Anonymous
Not applicable
HI!
I have been programming for a long time, and I can't understand some basic errors in GDL. E.g:

x  =  0.38
x2 = 1.08
if x=x2 then print 1 else print 2
check script : use of real types can result...
???
I can't use the equal sign, so every time I use very cumbersome code to judge
I really can't stand this problem.

I can only write this way.

x  =  0.38
x2 = 1.08
if x-x2 then 
  print 2
else
  print 1
endif
5 REPLIES 5
Lingwisyer
Guru
I have no issue using the equal sign. I do believe I have an issue doing a If - Then - Else on a single line. I can do an If - Then on a single line, but if I add an Else I need to split the actions into separate lines. I will check tomorrow if I remember...

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
Barry Kelly
There is no problem with the if/then/else all on one line.
It is simply a warning to say it is not a good idea to equate numbers with each other.
Your original script may work, but it is not a good idea to use it unless you can be sure of the accuracy of the numbers.

I don't understand it all myself, but I believe there is a level of accuracy that GDL uses.
Have a look at this....

You can write an equation that does not use = and you can specify the level of accuracy that you want to compare.

Barry,
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
"=" The equal sign can only support integers
So I can only use the greater than or less than the number to judge, can not use the equal sign, so very inaccurate