Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

custom panel door not built in curtain wall

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am trying to insert a door different that the ones "built in" in the options of the curtain wall, but when I tried the custom panel turns the doors 90 degree on x axis.
Any ideas to solvet it ?
13 REPLIES 13
Lingwisyer
Guru
As in your door panel lies flat on the x/y axis? Did you create the door panel in plan? If not, then that would be the cause. I am having no issues with custom doors in my curtain walls.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
Anonymous
Not applicable
I create the ensemble, wall+door, in an xz plane, because as far as I know to create the door in a xy plan you first need to lie in that plan the wall that contains that door and as far as I know you only can do that if the set is a morph.
Barry Kelly
Custom doors, windows and panels are best created in the XY plane - i.e. lying flat on the floor.
You can use slabs, walls, roof, morphs, etc., to create them.

If you want the exact size you can draw a fill on the elevation and copy & paste that onto the plan.
But you should find your custom object will re-scale automatically to suite the door, window or curtain wall panel size that you choose.
However you don't want them to re-scale too much as they may distort, so getting the correct size is a good idea.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
But can I lay down a wall in the plane xy?
Barry Kelly
darwinland wrote:
But can I lay down a wall in the plane xy?
You don't need to.

Barry.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Anonymous
Not applicable