Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

failing to get part of this script to run ONCE!

Anonymous
Not applicable
Ok so I'm new to this but it CAN'T be this hard!
My object is an external cladding screen consisting of a steel frame and automatically generated (random within user set parameters) vertical timber slats on the outside.

I have the graphical editing working so that I can stretch the frame and more slats generate - nice. Now I have created dynamic hotspots for users to edit individual slats. They show up ok but moving them generates no result BECAUSE it is constantly recalculating the slat positions (Funny how they all stay the same when I've used a RND function to generate them!... another time). So I've introduced a variable called Regen which when = 0 will run the slat calculation and put a line in the slat calculation which makes Regen = 1, thinking that this will stop the calculation running.
It refuses to work. Regen is somehow reset to zero on each attempted edit so the dynamic hotspots have no effect.

Yes Regen is uninitialized.

I must be missing something basic. Any help?
8 REPLIES 8
Erich
Contributor
Take a look at how I handle the lines for the hangers in the simple closet object here. I think this will resolve your issue.

Rabbit Hole
Erich

AC 19 6006 & AC 20
Mac OS 10.11.5
15" Retina MacBook Pro 2.6
27" iMac Retina 5K
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks Erich, But I don't see it yet.

It looks to me like your random line generator for the 2d clothes representation runs every time.

An equivalent to my situation would be if you then introduced dynamic hotspots to allow user editing of the 2d clothes lines. If your random routine keeps running it would not allow a successful user edit - my problem. How do you get it to do the first run of random generation and then allow user editing?
Ralph Wessel
Mentor
Angry wrote: