Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

ArchiCAD 7.0 is there a use for it in 2023

Lescol
Newcomer

I'm a retired Architect and I have cleared out all my books and other accumulated items collected during my career. I've come across two boxes each with a copy of ArchiCAD 6.0 and a box of ArchiCAD 7.0 with a 5 seat Keyplug (dongle). I can't remember where these came from but I did use ArchiCAD for a short time before for various reasons changing to AutoCAD.

Rather than throw these programmes out I wonder if anyone can use them or can they be recycled abroad (I'm in the UK).

I would appreciate any advice, perhaps it would be a breach of the license or Graphisoft needs a copy for their museum? I don't know.

3 REPLIES 3
Karl Ottenstein

The main use for any active user is to convert projects older then 7.0, but all active licensees have access to every older release as part of their license and there is a special "file conversion" release of Archicad 7.0 for the purpose of converting old projects.

The software will not run on current versions of macOS - but will run under Windows, even Windows 11 - although I'm not sure about the driver for the Keyplug..which I'm guessing is an old colored plastic WIBU key (which were replaced with Codemeter keys - from the same German company - some years later).

It's a shame you didn't sell 20 years ago when the package had considerable value, but it "could" have value as a donation to a school in a country that otherwise would not be able to get any version of Archicad.   For example, small towns in Africa, such as Mfuwe in Zambia, a region I'm a little familiar with.  Archicad 7.0 was a useful and stable version, and 5 licenses could open up opportunities for kids.