Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

Cloud License and internet

David OSullivan
Participant

I have a fairly new subscription to AC 27 4060 Aus Full. I selected a cloud license when signing up. 
I live in a regional area so use satellite internet, it sometimes drops out but is mostly fine. I don't have good cellular internet as a backup as am in a valley.

Cloud licenses are supposed to work without internet, however I have on several occasions had the internet go down and almost immediately had a pop up in archicad with a missing license, please connect to the internet and the options to either quit and don't save, or save and quit. I lost several hours of time this afternoon until the internet came back on. It would have been the perfect time to focus without answering emails!

This has also happened when visiting a client in town or out of my office, luckily I had phone coverage, but if I was visiting a more regional client I would have been out of luck in my area. 

Screenshot 2024-04-05 at 4.22.56 pm.png

Any idea why this is happening - From the FAQ's it should just work, if I had known this was going to happen I would have gone old school with the dongle. When I have internet it works no issues, but it should just work all of the time. I must be doing something wrong?

Screenshot 2024-04-05 at 5.13.10 pm.png

Operating system used: Mac Apple Silicon 13.6

7 REPLIES 7
Karl Ottenstein

You should contact technical support for Australia, as this is not supposed to happen from the way I read the FAQ on cloud licensing.   The FAQ says that it is possible to be disconnected from the internet for up to 7 days before Archicad must handshake with the server to verify the license.   The behavior you describe is disconcerting... and will be very disconcerting to anyone looking at Graphisoft's push towards subscription and cloud licensing in general.

One of the forum moderators