Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Alice in Attributeland

I am excited and delighted to be exploring yet another ArchiCAD update. Having spent the past 5 months in the bowels of ArchiCAD 17, the latest release brings welcome changes to the platform I’ve embraced for 20 years and affords me the opportunity to complete a key piece of my template puzzle. I’ve been holding off on paying any attention to Surface definitions, simply because the promise of C4D inside ArchiCAD was probably the worst kept secret in the Industry all year. It’s finally here and I can’t wait to get started. Thank you Graphisoft. It promises to be amazing.

Attributes are the bedrock components of ArchiCAD. And it’s Achilles Heel. For as ArchiCAD advances ever further, the stumbling block to progress resides in its core.

I’m an architect. Everything I design is bespoke. Unique. One off. Or so it says in my unwritten Charter of Beliefs and Values. The problem is, I now work in the realm of Construction, specifically the world of the Production Homebuilder. Nothing is a one-off here. We make money when we build 20 copies of the same house exactly the same way. If we have 50 houses in inventory and if even ten of them are hot sellers, we’re not making money if even two exemplars if House Model X are bespoke. We make more money if we can value engineer our way to making House Models X, Y & Z buildable with repeating means and methods and features.

Establishing an ArchiCAD template in this milieu shouldn’t be any different from trying to do it in a design boutique or a multi-disciplinary professional firm.

But it is.