BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Beginner CAD - Creating Tangents

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello Board!

Thanks for reading my first post! I'm looking for some help with CAD.

I need to find a CAD program that will do a couple of specific things. I am a product designer, mostly clothes or bags or purses etc.

The product flow i work with has some 'proper' CAD people who use Inventor or AutoCAD on PC to draw specific patterns and then manufacturing jigs and templates.

Instead of handing them a picture (an Illustrator drawing from a MAC) of a design and spending a lot of time working with them, i'd like to present a drawing and then a couple of the patterns - in CAD.

Now, I basically need to make two circles and then create a tangent line between them.

I have installed two CAD plugins for Illustrator, bought a copy of TurboCAD and now i'm looking for some information before i purchase another piece of software.

The tangent line needs to be the shortest possible distance between the two circles.

The problem i've come up against is that i can create a tangent line starting from the first circle, but then it is up to me and my mouse skills to lock the tangent onto the second circle. I can't do it mathematically perfect.

In AutoCAD, two circles are selected and then you click 'tangent line' and it puts the line inbetween the two.

I cannot afford AutoCAD or Inventor. I phoned a reseller and was told AC is now sold in a suite, like AdobeCS, which is £5K..... I just can't afford it and it seems like a huge waste. I wouldn't use 1% of Inventor.....

Can ArchiCAD do what i want?

Is there a better alternative for the Mac OS? I run windows also on my Mac, is there an option that will export to DXF or DWG and do what i need?

Thanks for any input you can give me, a complete CAD novice.

HB@