BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Changing room dimensions?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi.
Im new to building design and Archicad and I am struggling to find a simple way to change room dimensions.
Most programs I have used you simply click on a wall then click on the dimension area and type what the dimension you need and the walls all adjust to the new dimension.
I know you can click on a wall and change the x y axis but the walls don't seem to link and the rooms end up a mess.
Any help or videos would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
4 REPLIES 4
NCornia
Graphisoft
Graphisoft
Hi Brett,

In ARCHICAD we have a tool called the Marquee tool. You can use this to put a rubberband selection around multiple elements and then drag a given distance. In the case of walls, if you draw the Marquee around an entire wall from corner to corner and then drag it a given distance, it will stretch the adjoining walls along with it. See 1:53 of this video by Applecore designs:

HTH

Best regards,
Nicholas Cornia
Technical Support Team - GRAPHISOFT North America
ARCHICAD on Twitter
Tutorials
GRAPHISOFT Help Center
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for the reply. That is definitely more simple then the way I was doing it.
I have attached a video of how you can change the room dimensions with Revit. Was hoping Archicad could do something similar. The part I'm talking about is at 4mins 20.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5vGCniht8BE
KeesW
Advocate
I was very impressed with the Revit demo. Placing doors and windows, attaching gables to pitched roofs, all seem much easier than Archicad. Is there a downside to all this convenience?
Cornelis (Kees) Wegman

cornelis wegman architects
AC 5 - 26 Dell XPS 8940 Win 10 16GB 1TB SSD 2TB HD RTX 3070 GPU
Laptop: AC 24 - 26 Win 10 16GB 1TB SSD RTX 3070 GPU
NCornia
Graphisoft
Graphisoft