BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Coloured window panel, located in external skin of wall

Anonymous
Not applicable
Coloured window panel, located in external skin of wall, which does not create a hole in the inner skin. at the moment we have a standard metal window and i have changed the colour of the glass, but i need to know how to create the coloured glass panel without effecting the inner skin, as the plan shows a window aperature incorrectly!

have looked at wallniche but everytime i insert a window in the niche it creates a hole through the whole wall. i don't want to infill the the inner wall with a slab or similiar but fear this may be my only option!!

any help appreciated, but i warn you now, i've only been using Archicad since January, i'm not a programmer so GDL scripting may be beyond my reach, but am willing to try anything!!

many thanks
7 REPLIES 7
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
JJ71:

I am not getting that problem with W Niche 11. Have you set the Depth to be less than the wall thickness? If so, post some screen shots with your window settings and 3D views, and include your ArchiCAD version.

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Anonymous
Not applicable
David

thanks for your reply;

i've no problems creating a niche - setting depth to less than that of the wall total thickness thereby creating the niche that doesn't go through the whole wall.