Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Complex geometry

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi.

Quick introduction, as I am new to this forum:
I am a Norwegian architect, with a bachelor from Newcastle uni Australia. While studying there we used Archicad (then version 9 and 10). I have been working 2 years as an architect in Luxembourg, where we used Autocad Architecture. As I am going back to uni (this time in Germany) to take my masters degree, I would like to get back into ArchiCAD, because the uni here uses that.

I have a model I did for my firm in Luxembourg in Autocad which was fairly complicated, and I would like to redo this in ArchiCAD as a learning process.

My first problem are the non-rectangular walls, for instance the front wall. How to create this in ArchiCAD? Is it possible with the wall tool, or do I have to use another tool to create it? Or solid element operations?

I would greatly appreciate it if I could get some assistance recreating this model.

Cheers, Eirik

render shell.jpg
22 REPLIES 22
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
I would use Walls for the vertical walls.
I would probably use the Roof Tool for the sloping parts.
You could cut the holes for the Windows into the Roof with the Roof tool.
Then you could use the Curtain Wall Tool to create the Windows that go into those holes. Curtain Walls are good for this because you can create any polygonal shape and you can rotate it in 3D any way you like.
The Wall-Roof intersections can be done perfectly using Trim to Roof, or Solid Element Operation, which I like even more since it is an associative relationship.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
Anonymous
Not applicable
Laszlo.
Don't imagine, we can understand what you explain.