Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Create sloped butterfly roof

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm trying to create a butterfly roof that is sloped. So essentially you have the butterfly form (it slopes down by 3 degree to the valley) and then the whole roof slopes by 7 degress from one end of the building to the other. How do I go about doing this? (I'm an Archicad beginner)

Thanks
11 REPLIES 11
DGSketcher
Legend
Depending on the detail in the valley I would be inclined to use the SHELL tool. You can do this with single roof planes but it sound like it may be easier to set up with the Shell tool.

You may want to start by reading this and some of the other associated pages...
https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/user-guide/76514/
Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)
vistasp
Advisor
Could you show us a sketch please, Aditi?
= v i s t a s p =
bT Square Peg
https://archicadstuff.blogspot.com
https://www.btsquarepeg.com
| AC 9-27 INT | Win11 | Ryzen 5700 | 32 GB | RTX 3050 |
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
In 3D, you can create Roofs by specifying 3 points of the Roof ("Single-Plane" Geometry Method with "Complex Roof" Construction Method). This way you do not have to figure out exactly where the Pivot Line needs to be and what orientation it should have.
You can create other elements a node of which is at one of the locations you need to click. That way you can just click on element nodes when specifying the 3 Roof points.
Loving Archicad since 1995 - Find Archicad Tips at x.com/laszlonagy
AMD Ryzen9 5900X CPU, 64 GB RAM 3600 MHz, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, 500 GB NVMe SSD
2x28" (2560x1440), Windows 10 PRO ENG, Ac20-Ac27
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,