Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Custom fence

Amangava
Participant

Greetings, I am relatively new to the Archicad software and I have a question regarding the possibility of customizing fences. Is it possible to model a complex fence that would be a combination of stone with iron bars and what would be the most efficient method to achieve that? I will attach an example of what I have in mind.
I have searched for the solution and for now the complex profile one looks like it would cover what I am looking for but maybe there are some more options. Thank you in advance! 

Ex1.jpg

12 REPLIES 12
Djordje
Ace

Use wall with empty window openings for the masonry part, and custom railing components (panels would probably work best) for the wrought iron parts. The bottom stone (?) ledge on the openings can be a rail, with a custom profile.

You will learn a lot about custom profiles while working on this type of building... look also at extruding morphs along a path, morphs in general, and how to save objects and  make a custom library (object maker comes to mind...)

You are at the beginning of an interesting journey... and every journey starts with a first step! 🙂

Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Erwin Edel
Rockstar

The wrought iron fence looks to be curved, I'm not sure you can achieve that easily with a panel in a railing (I think they will stay straight). Sometimes it is quicker to 'assemble' something out of several archicad elements, like beams and to draw the more complicated shapes in a complex profile looking straight at it and then extrude a beam or wall in the perpindicular direction (hope this makes sense).

You could maybe split the decorative wrought iron into two parts to sort of be able to 'bend' them.

Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-26NED FULL
Windows 10 Pro
Adobe Design Premium CS5
Erwin Edel
Rockstar