Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Manager!

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

Difference btw various solid operations tools

Rastisan
Booster

Hello everyone,

I've been working with- and learning AC for a couple of months now and I've stumbled upon various tools for solid element operations:

- trim elements to roof/shell tool
- merge elements tool
- solid elements operations tool (subtraction, subtraction w/ up., subtraction w/ down., intersection, addition)
- Boolean operations (union, subtract, intersect)

It seems to me that the above tools are duplicates of the boolean command. Or, are there any differences btw above listed commands: I have noticed or I assume that:
- the "trim elements to roof/shell" can be achieved also with "subtraction w/ up" sub-command in the "solid elements operations" tool or If you model a solid "negative" of the roof and apply a boolean subtract
- "merge elements" tool is the same as "addition" sub-command in the "solid elements operations" or "union" sub-command in the "Boolean operations"
- "solid elements operations" are the same as "Boolean operations". The only difference is that they are a bit less general and a bit easier to grasp and use because you don't have to model a the negative with which you perform the subtracting operations and you can use the roof or stair object directly for the operation.

Are the above assumptions correct? Is there any aspect that the operations differ? Joining the different layers of the composites that receive the operation for example?