BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

How can i curve the end of a wall?

adrianasofiasm_
Booster

Hi! As you can see in the picture, the wall I drew in CAD slants to allow the glass to rest against it. How can I make a wall slant like that in Archicad? 

I'm new to this program, so forgive me if the solution is obvious. 

Thanks!

Screenshot 2023-10-23 at 4.40.45 PM.png

AC27 USA - MacBook Pro 14" - Apple M1 Pro - 16 GB
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Karl Ottenstein

I've edited your post to include your screenshot in the post itself (just drag and drop next to your text) so others can quickly see the issue you're facing.

Slanting would be different than what you illustrate which is a curve-cut-from-above on the wall end.   This is not possible (that I can think of) out of the box.  The fact that the radius of your cutting circle is or could be arbitrary makes using a Morph the easiest way to deal with this I think (or a complex profile Column).  Neither will be parametric and so you'd have to remember to modify them if the design changes.  Each will 'clean up' to the adjacent wall surface material differently in different views.

For a Morph, you could just Magic Wand a Morph surface to the white part that is shown after the end of your wall, and then extrude it in 3D to match the wall height.

For a compex profiled column, Magic Wand a fill to that same area and use the fill in the Profile Manager to create a column profile, then add a column with that profile to the end of your wall.

Others no doubt have other ideas... I hope...

One of the forum moderators
AC 27 USA and earlier   •   macOS Ventura 13.6.6, MacBook Pro M2 Max 12CPU/30GPU cores, 32GB

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Solution
Karl Ottenstein