Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

How to paint only one part of wall/slab?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello!

I'm still new to ArchiCAD and I'm struggling to paint the walls and slab inside one room.
My goal is to achieve different tiles in each room but when I use the surface painter every room's tiles change because the slab is interpreted as one big part. The same thing happens when I'm painting a wall.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
4 REPLIES 4
Erwin Edel
Rockstar
Either split the walls/slabs, or cover them with a thin layer with colour for your presentation.

If you go with 2nd approach, it is best to make a new layer with a seperate intersection group from your main model, to avoid unwanted buildingmaterial connections.

A 3rd option is to hotlink your entire model to seperate presentation PLN files and modify the surfaces per room / render.
Erwin Edel, Project Lead, Leloup Architecten
www.leloup.nl

ArchiCAD 9-26NED FULL
Windows 10 Pro
Adobe Design Premium CS5
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello, I use two different slabs for my projects, I use one that will be everything but the finishing, and other on top of that for the finishing, I work with an interior designer that is very picky and sometimes I have to do that every tile is a slab, in order to play with them and make the pattern he wants, and take measurements. But the simple way if you just want to have different finishes by room, will be, either doing a slab per room, or doing a big slab for the whole floor without finishing, and then adding a thin slab (the thickness of the finishing material) on top of it, and even putting this slabs in a different layer to have more control over floor finishing.