Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.
SOLVED!

Multi-Plane Roof Not Working

Brandylee341
Participant

I am new to this software and I'm not sure what I am doing wrong, but I have followed multiple tutorials and I still can not get a gambrel roof to work. 

This is the settings that I have used, I have tried to use them different ways and nothing changes. I can not get two levels on the roof, it will only move the pitch higher. 

Screenshot 2023-10-03 at 8.17.14 AM.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend

Try adjusting the lower roof elevation to be the height from the roof pivot base line, say 3' as a starter. At present AC is working on the lower slope extending 90' before changing slope.

Check out this mansard roof in HELP

Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Solution
DGSketcher
Legend

Try adjusting the lower roof elevation to be the height from the roof pivot base line, say 3' as a starter. At present AC is working on the lower slope extending 90' before changing slope.

Check out this mansard roof in HELP

Apple iMac Intel i9 / macOS Sonoma / AC27UKI (most recent builds.. if they work)

Sorry, but that roof is never going to be a Gambrel Roof 😀  

SteveJepson_0-1696360439254.jpeg

But if this is what you're trying to do, it works.  

SteveJepson_1-1696361580425.png

?

SteveJepson_2-1696363216892.png

The thing is, I am not sure there is a rational connection between the angles you input and the result you get. 

But you can get what you need.  

ArchiCAD 25 7000 USA - Windows 10 Pro 64x - Dell 7720 64 GB 2400MHz ECC - Xeon E3 1535M v6 4.20GHz - (2) 1TB M.2 PCIe Class 50 SSD's - 17.3" UHD IPS (3840x2160) - Nvidia Quadro P5000 16GB GDDR5 - Maxwell Studio/Render 5.2.1.49- Multilight 2 - Adobe Acrobat Pro - ArchiCAD 6 -25