Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Multiple Live-Updating Model Views/Viewports

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm new to ArchiCAD after 25yrs of AutoCAD, 10 yrs SketchUp and a year on Revit I've just setup my own small practice and wanted to look into better and more friendly BIM options that Revit, which I guess is anything other than Revit.

I know AutoCAD and SketchUp very well and was looking for something which was a hybrid of the best parts of each with the odd bit of Revit and this is what ArchiCAD seems to offer to some degree, at least from my initial use.

I've been playing with it and working through Eric Bobrow's really helpful tutorials and I'm really liking what I'm finding i.e. everything is really intuitive in ArchiCAD and is placed where you would want it and therefore allows a very logical linear work flow (just imagine that, Autodesk!!). However, the one thing I can't find and I fear is not part of the software is having multiple live views (or viewports) open at once, such as a plan view and 3D views open side by side, that will both update simultaneously on the fly. This is one of the very very few things I liked in Revit and has been in AutoCAD forever. It adds so much to productivity as switching back and too is counter productive.

I did find a link to a post about this from some years back stating it wasn't a feature back then and was hoping Graphisoft had seen sense added the feature in and I've just not found the option.

Any help on this much appreciated.
7 REPLIES 7
Karl Ottenstein
JuJitsoup wrote: