Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

!Restored: Organic Buildings In Archicad 10

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all!

3rd year architectural student here....been working with Archicad 10 for about a year now, on and off, not my main drawing program but the program I use for 3D rendering for Uni so Ive had no formal training in Archicad - pretty much self-taught.

Anyway, for my latest design project I designed an organic building at a Harbour, where the roof is pretty much self supporting and form the overhead and side enclosure to allow freeform design of internal spaces - something similar to the curved red building on the Archicad 10 loading screen.

I dont, however, have the slightest idea of how to do that in Archicad, as this is the first time Ive tried my hand at Organic Architecture. Do you guys know of any tutorials out there explaining how this is done or can you please give me some tips? Would greatly appreciate it!

Cheers!
Rouan
20 REPLIES 20
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
Rouan:

You should post some images of what you are trying to model to get better feedback here, the complexity of the building form (singly curved, doubly curved, etc.) will determine which approach (s) might work.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

David
David Maudlin / Architect
www.davidmaudlin.com
Digital Architecture
AC27 USA • iMac 27" 4.0GHz Quad-core i7 OSX11 | 24 gb ram • MacBook Pro M3 Pro | 36 gb ram OSX14
Anonymous
Not applicable
Ok here goes...I only designed it by hand so far so here goes:
kalkbay.jpg
David Maudlin
Virtuoso
Rouan:

ArchiCAD is not geared towards creating free forms (there are some add ons for this that create the forms in another application then transfer to ArchiCAD as objects), but there are some techniques you can try.