BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Snow Globe series: Santa's SPA by Andrii Levko

Rubia Torres
Graphisoft
Graphisoft

Welcome to our series of articles from the Snow Globe Challenge!Santa's SPA and winter bathing.jpeg

We invited some of the designers who participated in the challenge to elaborate on their entries, share their workflows and tips&tricks.

Enjoy and feel free to drop us a comment if you have any questions.

Now passing the mic to Andrii Levko!

SPA and winter bathing

Concept for Santa’s SPA

I work as an architect and BIM Manager for a company that deals with the design of family houses. I specialized in BIM design, modeling workflows and Archicad template creation.

Since last year, I am interested in designing modular and tiny houses on wheels. I even got a few freelance projects for a tiny house design. I'm attaching some pictures of my project below.

Picture 1.jpg  Picture 2.jpg
Picture 3.jpg Picture 4.jpg 

Some other projects that inspired me, from DMDmodular and My Home Office:

Smart House B79V, DMDmodularSmart House B79V, DMDmodular My Home Office, NetherlandsMy Home Office, Netherlands

Based on this experience, I decided to create a tiny modular SPA for Santa Claus for Snow Globe Challenge. It would be nice if Santa had his own SPA, and I wanted it to be relaxing and cozy.

Modelling workflow

1. Shape

I started with the shape of the SPA building. With one operation, I created a rectangle from walls with external dimensions of 217x204. I chose Roof geometry method: multi-plane - it speeds up my work - and used Solid Element Operations to cut off the walls, and in a few clicks I had a shape of Santa’s SPA.