Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Stair tool, sloped riser face at nosing edge

This is an existing stair, from the '70s. Cast in place reinforced concrete, concrete screed, rubber flooring.

On the left the closest I am getting to so far with the Stair Tool. I can't get the sloping riser finish face to meet at a (sharp or rounded) edge with the tread finish face —instead I get that tiny overhang, which will get worse if I set a larger tread finish thickness (say screed + rubber) and almost disappear if I set it close to 0, but then because the nosing fillet is set within the thread finish thickness the fillet will almost disappear too.

What would be the way of dealing with this using the Stair Tool?
11 REPLIES 11
Lingwisyer
Guru
Could you just define the entire tread and riser as a Complex Profile as is?

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660 
Barry Kelly
Have you tried using the 'Profiled Riser' and then creating your own custom complex profile for the riser?
It can then be any shape you want (but it won't include the tread nosing).

Try a 'Filleted' nosing rather than a round or possibly even a custom complex profile for that as well.

Barry.
One of the forum moderators.
Versions 6.5 to 27
Dell XPS- i7-6700 @ 3.4Ghz, 16GB ram, GeForce GTX 960 (2GB), Windows 10
Lenovo Thinkpad - i7-1270P 2.20 GHz, 32GB RAM, Nvidia T550, Windows 11
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
I would create custom Treads and Risers in the Profile Manager and use the "Profiled Tread 23" and "Profiled Riser 23" GDL Objects, for the Tread and Riser, respectively.

Another possible solution is to turn off Risers, and use only Treads. Then I would create Profile in the Profile Manager that would represent a single Tread+Riser combo so their connection would be smooth.