BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

this has to be the toughest program to learn alone

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi i'm a student and about to give up on archicad. How are people supposed to learn this program. There's no decent tutorials except the pre-programmed soul less and useless ones that ship with graphisoft, (sound like steven hawkins narrates them). i'm at one of the best architectural schools in London,
and nobody knows how to use this program, students or lecturers. There is no classes anywhere,no books anywhere, It a shame iv always tried to promote this program whilst everyone else championed Rhino, Vectorworks or Microstation. I got Vectorworks a couple of days ago and in one night i know more about that program than months toying with archicad and i'm booked on a full day Vectorworks course( 80% student discount!) recommended by VW.
Truthfully feel iv wasted a lot of time on this un- user friendly program.
23 REPLIES 23
Anonymous
Not applicable
Takes a bit of work to get used to if you already know another system. Historically, one "difficulty" newbies have with ArchiCAD is discovering that some things are easier than they think. Their preconceptions or expectations about "how things probably work" may be the source of their difficulty.

It would have been wiser to post this before you got to the boiling point, when you would have been more receptive to help, not boiling mad. After "months toying with ArchiCAD ...." really tells a story.

Talk to your local reseller and sit down with him/her to help expose the problem and get up to speed. They surely realize that helping students is tending the garden. Within limits, when you say 'jump,' they should be asking 'how high?'