cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preferences Cleaning

Andor Szoke
Newcomer
ARCHICAD saves 'Preferences' and 'Work Environment' files to ensure you find your own customized environment next time you start ARCHICAD. In rare cases, these files can become corrupt preventing ARCHICAD from starting or possibly causing crashes. In such cases, as a troubleshooting step, try to delete these files. (For troubleshooting crashes, please also see: crash.) Removing the preference files does no harm; ARCHICAD will re-create these files with default settings the next time you run ARCHICAD. You may however lose some of your modifications to the ARCHICAD interface, such as customized shortcuts, palette locations, etc. to avoid that, before deleting any files or folders: create a backup copy.

Preparation Steps

  • Have your BIM Server address, username, and password written down or stored in a text file.
  • Send in all changes in all Teamwork projects to make sure the BIM Server has the latest changes, not just your computer.
  • Store and export your customized Work Environment.
  • If you have custom IFC or DWG translators you should export those to a folder also.

Cleaning preferences on a MAC

Delete following files and folders (where xx stands for the version number of ARCHICAD and yyy is the localization of ARCHICAD):
  • ~/Library/Preferences/Graphisoft/AC xx.0.0 yyy v1 folder - this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files.
  • ~/Library/Preferences/com.Graphisoft.AC xx.0.0 yyy v1.plist - this file contains some basic settings of ARCHICAD. The Windows equivalent of this file are the Registry keys.
  • ~/Library/Caches/Graphisoft folder - this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries.
  • ~/Library/Application Support/Graphisoft folder - this folder contains the Archicad autosave folder, the ARCHICAD templates, the DXF-DWG translators, IFC preferences, Bug reporter log files, publisher log files, and the local cache of the Teamwork projects. Note: You may want to back up this folder in order to keep your Work Environment files and DXF-DWG translators. In case having unsent changes in Teamwork projects, then do not delete ~/Library/Application Support/Graphisoft/TW Data folder.
Info_18x18.png ~/ means the current user's home folder. Users/<username>
Info_18x18.png No Library Folder? Starting with OS X 10.7, the Library folder within the userhome folder is hidden by default. To browse the ~/Library folder:
  • In Finder choose Go, Go To Folder
  • Type ~/Library
  • Click go to navigate to the Library folder
  • Or simply press option (alt) when the Go menu is open in Finder to show Library on the list
  • Or press Command + Shift + . (dot)

Cleaning preferences on a PC

STEP 1: Delete the following files and folders: Windows 10 (and 8.1, 8, 7):
  • Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Graphisoft\ folder - this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files
  • Users\<Username>\AppData\Local\Graphisoft\ folder - this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries, and IFC settings
  • Users\<Username>\Graphisoft\ folder - this folder contains ARCHICAD templates, crash logs, publisher log files, IFC and DXF-DWG Translator files, and the local cache of the Teamwork projects
Warning_18x18.png In case of having unsent changes in Teamwork projectsdo not delete <userhome>Graphisoft\TW Data folder.
Windows XP:
  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Application Data\Graphisoft\ folder - this folder contains the basic preferences files and all the Work Environment files
  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Graphisoft\ folder - this folder contains library cache files and the local cache copy of network libraries, and IFC settings
  • Documents and Settings\<Username>\Graphisoft folder - this folder contains ARCHICAD templates, crash logs, publisher log files, and the local cache of the Teamwork projects

 

Info_18x18.png No AppData folder? It is often hidden by default. You can show hidden files and folders. To do this you need to open Control Panel and go to File Explorer Options. Open the View tab and under Hidden files and folders tick the second radio button shown on the image below:
wp-content_uploads_2017_01_hidden-files-and-folders.png
 
STEP 2: Run REGEDIT. There, go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER/SOFTWARE/ and delete the entry called Graphisoft.
Warning_18x18.png WARNING: This step is for expert-level users. If you are not familiar with Windows Registry, skip this step!
STEP 3: Restart ARCHICAD.

Still looking?

Browse more articles

Back to articles

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!