Setup & License forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Big Sur for Archicad?

Kans
Newcomer
Is any problem with Big Sur?
I plan to upgrade to Big Sur tomorrow.
AC24, iMac 2020,Intel Core i9 3,6GHz 10-Core
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB
15 REPLIES 15

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Usual advice for any professional: NEVER upgrade to new MacOS when it is first released. Wait for all critical software vendors to confirm that your essential software works fine. Typically, it has taken Apple at least one or two updates to get a stable general release.

If you, like many before you on these forums, just cannot wait to upgrade: Please do yourself a favor and make a full, bootable clone of your current machine so that if you run into Big Sur issues, you can boot from the clone to continue to get work done.
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6.1, iMac Pro

Karl Ottenstein
Moderator
Big Sur upgrade advice from Graphisoft:

https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/knowledgebase/129835/
One of the forum moderators   •   AC 25 USA and earlier   •   MacOS 11.6.1, iMac Pro

Kans
Newcomer
Thanks for your advice.
AC24, iMac 2020,Intel Core i9 3,6GHz 10-Core
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB

rm
Enthusiast
Karl wrote:
Big Sur upgrade advice from Graphisoft:

https://helpcenter.graphisoft.com/knowledgebase/129835/
Thanks for posting this helpful link Karl! Though after reading it, it is very disappointing to read GS is now only supporting their software 2 versions back for the current OS, at least on the Mac.

Given GS has been on a yearly update schedule for ArchiCAD, given it they are suggesting to wait for several updates to a newly released OS before making the switch if one is using ArchiCAD and given it is not uncommon at all for larger projects to last several years from start to construction completion; it is irresponsible for GS to only support AC version 2 versions back.

In my opinion, again given the now common model of "major" OS updates and "major" version upgrades of ArchiCAD, it seems GS owes its customers better/longer support for each version of AC. In my opinion, they should support at least 3 versions back, better 4, though that is probably a pipe dream.
Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Eduardo Rolon
Moderator
AFAIK GS has only supported the last 2 versions since I bought V8 in 2002
eduardo rolón AIA NCARB
Another of the forum moderators.
Macbook Pro 2.4 i9 32GB ram
OS X 10.XX latest
AC25 US/INT -> AC08

Kans
Newcomer
To read es makes me sad because I bought new iMac 2020..
ArchiCAD had always special points for Mac. Maybe no more.

I had to update Big Sur to watch 4k Video in Youtube and Netflix in Safari without CPU Load.
Of course for private using (but during Corona how can I avoid working at home if necessary?)
I had made Back Up before updating. So far everything runs fine.
GS may be afraid of some unknown problems in case of update.

Graphic advantage for ArchiCAD: in case of dark mode (?) it looks more fine. I have insert to show to compare.
There is no speed advantage till now. The rounded edge looks gut.
Project manager tool is still highly loaded.
I need some tipps how I manage Project Manager to optimize CPU or GPU..
AC24, iMac 2020,Intel Core i9 3,6GHz 10-Core
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB

Bob Moore
Contributor
Again thanks Karl for the info.
But I must say I agree with Robert:
"it is very disappointing to read GS is now only supporting their software 2 versions back for the current OS, at least on the Mac.

Given GS has been on a yearly update schedule for ArchiCAD, given it they are suggesting to wait for several updates to a newly released OS before making the switch if one is using ArchiCAD and given it is not uncommon at all for larger projects to last several years from start to construction completion; it is irresponsible for GS to only support AC version 2 versions back.

In my opinion, again given the now common model of "major" OS updates and "major" version upgrades of ArchiCAD, it seems GS owes its customers better/longer support for each version of AC. In my opinion, they should support at least 3 versions back, better 4, though that is probably a pipe dream."

I too am very disappointed, more like an Autocad support treatment.
AC 7 - 24
iMac 27"
macOS 10.15.7
3.1 GHz 6-Core Intel Core
32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 575X 4 GB

rm
Enthusiast
To add insult to injury, I have a "non critical" iMac that I installed Big Sur on. I have noticed it seems to be "snappier" at everything from accessing my network to loading web pages.

I decided to open a current AC24 project on that same machine, a project that works fine on a machine running Catalina. I was astonished upon launching the project on the iMac running Big Sur, how much of the model was missing. Im not talking about speciality library parts. Im talking about walls and roofs. This was very disappointing and tells me GS has done a terrible job preparing AC24 for Big Sur, if they have at all.

Big Sur has been in developer hands for months, there is no excuse for this bad of an implementation from GS.

Yet they only want to support AC for 2 versions back, not acceptable from perspective.
Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
rm wrote:
To add insult to injury, I have a "non critical" iMac that I installed Big Sur on. I have noticed it seems to be "snappier" at everything from accessing my network to loading web pages.

I decided to open a current AC24 project on that same machine, a project that works fine on a machine running Catalina. I was astonished upon launching the project on the iMac running Big Sur, how much of the model was missing. Im not talking about speciality library parts. Im talking about walls and roofs. This was very disappointing and tells me GS has done a terrible job preparing AC24 for Big Sur, if they have at all.

Big Sur has been in developer hands for months, there is no excuse for this bad of an implementation from GS.

Yet they only want to support AC for 2 versions back, not acceptable from perspective.

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 11.26.51 AM.jpg
Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your report and I am very sorry about the issue!

We were and still are doing intensive tests with the new macOS. This is something that we have never seen before. I'm wondering if you are willing to share with us the project in PLA format? It's definitely worth taking a closer look. Please let me know if you need a secure link to upload the file also.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

rm
Enthusiast
mnguyen wrote:
rm wrote:
To add insult to injury, I have a "non critical" iMac that I installed Big Sur on. I have noticed it seems to be "snappier" at everything from accessing my network to loading web pages.

I decided to open a current AC24 project on that same machine, a project that works fine on a machine running Catalina. I was astonished upon launching the project on the iMac running Big Sur, how much of the model was missing. Im not talking about speciality library parts. Im talking about walls and roofs. This was very disappointing and tells me GS has done a terrible job preparing AC24 for Big Sur, if they have at all.

Big Sur has been in developer hands for months, there is no excuse for this bad of an implementation from GS.

Yet they only want to support AC for 2 versions back, not acceptable from perspective.

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 11.26.51 AM.jpg
Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your report and I am very sorry about the issue!

We were and still are doing intensive tests with the new macOS. This is something that we have never seen before. I'm wondering if you are willing to share with us the project in PLA format? It's definitely worth taking a closer look. Please let me know if you need a secure link to upload the file also.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh -

Thanks for the quick reply. Forward a link and I can send you a .pla copy of the file.
Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
rm wrote:

Minh -

Thanks for the quick reply. Forward a link and I can send you a .pla copy of the file.
Hi Robert,

I sent you the link via Private Message. Please let me know once the process is finished.

Thank you very much!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

rm
Enthusiast
mnguyen wrote:
rm wrote:

Minh -

Thanks for the quick reply. Forward a link and I can send you a .pla copy of the file.
Hi Robert,

I sent you the link via Private Message. Please let me know once the process is finished.

Thank you very much!

Best regards,
Minh
Hello Minh -

Requested files are now uploaded to the provided link.

Thank you!
Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Nguyen Minh
Graphisoft Moderator
Graphisoft Moderator
Hi Robert,

Thank you very much for the file!

As we discussed, we were unable to replicate the issue in-house with macOS Big Sur. I'm looking forward to hearing from you about how to achieve a similar result with the model you shared. Thank you very much for your help!

Best regards,
Minh

Minh Nguyen
Technical Support Engineer
GRAPHISOFT

rm
Enthusiast
rm wrote:
To add insult to injury, I have a "non critical" iMac that I installed Big Sur on. I have noticed it seems to be "snappier" at everything from accessing my network to loading web pages.

I decided to open a current AC24 project on that same machine, a project that works fine on a machine running Catalina. I was astonished upon launching the project on the iMac running Big Sur, how much of the model was missing. Im not talking about speciality library parts. Im talking about walls and roofs. This was very disappointing and tells me GS has done a terrible job preparing AC24 for Big Sur, if they have at all.

Screen Shot 2020-11-16 at 11.26.51 AM.jpg
This problem was not a GS problem, this was my error. Our default is to have the marquee tool set to mult-story selection. When we installed Big Sur and reinstalled AC24, the marque tool defaulted to single story selection and I didn't catch that.

Minh was super helpful in chasing this issue down, my thanks to him!

Looking forward to hearing from GS when they feel it is "safe" to start and or transition projects on the Mac with Big Sur.
Robert Mariani
MARIANI design studio, PLLC
Architecture / Architectural Photography
www.robertmariani.com

Mac OSX 11.6
AC 24 / 25

Kans
Newcomer
In my case till now AC works fine with Big Sur.
As I mentioned the dark mode looks much better.
The dark mode from AC was terrible. But now the dark mode is improved through Apple side I think.
AC24, iMac 2020,Intel Core i9 3,6GHz 10-Core
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB

Still looking?

Browse more topics

Back to forum

See latest solutions

Accepted solutions

Start a new discussion!