Visualization
About built-in and 3rd party, classic and real-time rendering solutions, settings, workflows, etc.

!Restored: Align View and Lightworks

Anonymous
Not applicable
Is there a secret to aligning to a photo, or better yet, how many secrets are there? Pro Rendering exercise works great, as well as all the learning examples, but in my photos and plans, I am not even close!

I would like to know what size the photo can be, both small and large, and if using photoshop to correct the distortion is allowed. Other than László Nagy's Introduction for version 7, I have found nothing addressing what to do when the view is not correct.

I have returned to the site to double check, and triple check measurements, and I have not found any information about how exact I need to be.

Thank you all in advance.

ArchiCAD 11 MAC and PC
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable
Dwight, I noticed you said a perfect photo in the view cone dialogue. Because I am a photographer, what it the perfect photo? Might as well start with the camera. I have many photos at different focal lengths, and some work better than others, but I haven't gone into looking at the length I used.
Is there ever a simple answer?
Dwight
Newcomer
The only way I have ever made Align View work with absolute perfection is as described in "Illustration in Archicad," my very first book. In placing a piece of furniture into a rendering of the surrounding room, it works if you zoom in enough to place your anchor/reference points to absolute pixel accuracy. Make a rendering of the surround room and use that image as the reference for the new rendering. It will correctly place the camera. Yay. Congratulations GS for making a tool work right, even though, like adding salt to a recipe, they do say that you must tweak the results to suit. Weasels.
Things in the real world that detract from emulating this perfection include: