BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

Improving the BIM capabilities

Hello:

I have placed this in the "wishes" forum but it might not be the right one.

BIM and Archicad (AC)

Many years ago, when BIM began AC was at the forefront of building design software to include it. At that time the goal was adding intelligence to the building model regarding the components the building was made of. Today I am sure that BIM is more than that and typically goes beyond what I personally need but there are times I wish that components had more information about the components used to create a structure.

Note that I am not an Architect by trade/education but have a love of designing buildings and I use AC as a hobby now that I am retired. Also note that I never design anything for any one but me. While I don’t use it everyday I find that AC lacks intelligence in some areas. For example, assume that I am designing a house. One of the first things I need to place are the outside walls. So I double click the “wall” tool and select the features I desire except I can’t choose the style of wall I want. In my case I want the wall to be a wood stud wall. There is no option for that type of wall. Even if I did choose one of the available “wood” wall types it still would not represent the wall I want as it shows as a solid block without any information regarding what the wall is made of and all the components needed to build the wall. I don’t see the “intelligence” in the wall structure. The same is true if I wanted to build a “steel reinforce” concrete wall. AC does not provide options as to where the reinforcement should be place and the dimensions of the steel. As it is it is required that there be a “detail” drawing of the wall structure showing the components which is fine but the drawings have to be manually m