Wishes
Post your wishes about Graphisoft products: Archicad, BIMx, BIMcloud, and DDScad.

spreadsheet in archicad

Anonymous
Not applicable
It would be very usefull to have a tool for spreadsheets just like for text and labels. With basic calculation features. And the possibility to insert gdl parameters values and expressions. We would than have a much simpler approach to calculation.

What do you think?
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable
As I am fairly new to archicad, not sure if it is possible, but the simplest way to deal with this is to have an import facility from spreadsheet programs, i.e. direct linking to microsoft excel, thus allowing you to work on the data in excel and then it prints out with your drawing as an automatic link.
Anonymous
Not applicable
OLE is usefull but not very reliable.
anyway even if it was reliable there should be a basic spreadsheet editor built into ac
Oh how I miss the spreadsheet capabilities Minicad had back in 1996 and probably way earlier.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Would it not be better to have a direct software link rather than try to make archicad work as a spreadsheet.

i.e. have some like a preference tab, which allows you to have choices of text editor, spreadsheet editor, and these be linked back to your choice, for instance, MS word and MS Excel, or Appleworks...

So these programs are used, but in a direct way with archicad, the information actually been inputed direct into your drawing rather then OLE.

The reason for this would to prevent archicad become bloated, and why have the archicad software writers write yet more software that is already installed on your computer in some form.

This might not be possible of course and would be interested in comments from a software engineer's point of view.
Anonymous
Not applicable
no it woud be not !
Sometimes even comunication between archicad and plotmaker is tricky. do you think a link between archicad and excel will work?
i don't think so.