BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

ArchiCAD Popularity? (Worldwide) How widely used is it?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I know this will most likely become a bit of debate but I think it is a general concern for students - at least at my University in Scotland, UK.

I have been using ArchiCAD for two years now and love it (even though there are always small niggles, like with everything - and in time I will learn ways round them). I have only used AutoCAD (what appears to have the monopoly) once, and so do not have an opinion on it.

The problem is that, (at least in the UK), practices always seem to use AutoCAD and want people who can use AutoCAD. In university we have had zero training on AutoCAD (and very little on ArchiCAD - it is self taught really). I have no problems learning new packages - I enjoy it really, however, there are many who people are not as quick to pick-up new programs.

So my question, after all that, is ... how popular do you find ArchiCAD is in practices in your country and your general area of the world?

I assume it is becoming more popular
19 REPLIES 19
Chazz
Enthusiast
As I've noted elsewhere on this forum, one metric that is easier to obtain and potentially more meaningful to someone locally is the the number of want ads. If I type ArchiCAD into my local Craigslist (a large site with want ads localized all over the world) I get only 11 hits. Revit will give you twice that number. Autocad will be in the hundreds.