BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

Seeking Help: Unexpected Archicad API Crash After Running an External EXE File

4livesdragon
Contributor

Hello everyone, I am a novice who recently started learning to develop the Archicad API. Thank you all for the help provided before, and now I've encountered a very perplexing problem.

I ran an exe file with C language. This file was written in Python and uses utf-8 encoding (I'm not sure if it's relevant). Here's the relevant code:

setlocale(LC_ALL, "");
int ret = system("demo.exe");
if(ret == -1)
{WriteReport_Alert("Not Running!");}
else
{WriteReport_Alert("Done!");}
break;

This exe file, in theory, has absolutely nothing to do with Archicad. It just reads some files and outputs a file.

After running the above code in Archicad separately, a strange bug appeared. I am not sure if I successfully ran this exe file, but all the functions I wrote previously related to creating Objects stopped working. When I try to call them, Archicad crashes directly. These functions are all very basic, just modifying some parameters such as position and size information, and calling the ACAPI_Element_Create and ACAPI_Element_Change functions. Moreover, my exe file, when not opened through Archicad, gives the error "Unhandled exception in script" when double-clicked.

As my information is in Chinese, I used a lot of wide characters wchar_t in the code. I'm not sure if this is relevant, but this is the direction I currently suspect. Because not all the functions I wrote are malfunctioning. The functions that simply process information through C language are usable, and outputting Object information (including Chinese) from Archicad is also usable. It's only when I call the function to create Objects and ACAPI_Element_Change that it crashes.