BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

BIMx
About BIMx (mobile, web and desktop), connection to BIMcloud, and related technical questions.

BIMx on Windows vs Android

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm an Architect in Australia using AC21.

I'm about to purchase a new Windows 2-in-1 style laptop OR an Android tablet, mainly to take to presentations, view PDFs etc on site, and use with BIM models saved from AC21.

Is there a big difference between the Android BIMx app and the Windows BIMx viewer?

I'd prefer the Windows device but don't want a crappy BIMx experience.

Thanks in advance.
5 REPLIES 5
Hello,

Windows devices are like macOS device. They are not tablet OS.
If you want the best tablet experience you have to take an iPhone by iOS or iPad by iPadOS.
BimX birth was on iOS then on Android which could be a good device too.

But Windows OS devices are not tablets OS like Android, iOS or iPadOS

What you can get with bimX : https://bimx.archicad.com/en/#what-is-bimx
Christophe - FRANCE
Archicad Designer and Teacher
Archicad 15 to 27 FRA FULL

OS 11.6 Big Sur - MacBook Pro 2017 - 16Go RAM
"Quality is never an accident ; it's always the result of an intelligent effort" John Ruskin
Emre Senoglu
Expert
Unfortunately, at the moment there are and have been (since quite a long while) inconsistencies between the mobile (3 versions: BIMx, BIMx Pro and BIMx Lab), desktop and web versions of BIMx. It almost seems as if all 3 are being developed by entirely different teams. While I haven't had the chance to test out Android version of the app, I can tell you some of the lacking features on the desktop are:
1) No 2D Documents
2) Lack for controller support
3) Lack of opacity map support (This is only available in the BIMx Lab app)
4) No VR

The desktop app does however have these functions that otherwise lack on mobile:
1) Support for turning layers on and off