BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

XML Schema for classification data

Professor Pickle
Advocate
I want to create, programmatically, a new classification file that uses MasterSpec's CBI classification system. This would need to follow the schema that was used to generate similar files available from Graphisoft (https://www.graphisoft.com/downloads/archicad/BIM_Data.html). My question is this: what is the XML schema that was used to generate those files?

I am very new to ArchiCAD so I don't really know where to find any of this information yet. I'd appreciate any pointers I can get.

cheers.
-tomek
Pushing the boundaries of local time/space continuum since 1972.
Archicad 26 | iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017) | 4.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 | 24 GB | Radeon Pro 580 8 GB | macOS 12.6

5 REPLIES 5
Professor Pickle
Advocate
A little searching and I came up with this handy web service: https://www.freeformatter.com/xsd-generator.html. The service can take some XML, and assuming it's sane and well formatted, will generate a XSD schema for you. Of course that is not the same as having the actual schema used by Graphisoft, or whoever created those classification flies, as there is no way to know if the sample documents contain all the possible fields. But it's good enough for me.

I can now use the XSD and some python to parse a CSV file containing codes and values of the MasterSpec CBI classification and generate a valid input file for ArchiCAD. I'll post it here once I've done it. Maybe some of you will find it useful/interesting. My main interest is to be able to create a simple element-based keynoting system that will tie in with MasterSpec.

cheers,
-tomek