Archicad C++ API
About Archicad add-on development using the C++ API.

New Developer - Can't Build Examples

Matt Balaam
Enthusiast
Hi,

I am new to developing add-ons and also new to C++ (I have done programming in other languages before). I have installed the Dev Kit 14.2550 and Visual C++ 2005 Express and read everything I can find on building the example projects but cannot get any examples to build (I'm not even sure if I'm doing it right). Once I can get something running I can learn from there.

The documentation says that all the examples should build in Visual Studio 2005 Express, but I can't find anywhere exactly how to build them (coming from a beginners point of view)

If I try to build the whole solution, it comes up with an error like this...
1>BSCMAKE: error BK1506 : cannot open file '.\debug\Attribute_Test.sbr': No such file or directory
If I compile just the grc files separately, they succeed but don't seem to be of any use.

If I compile the rc2 file separately I get a "cannot find windows.h" error.

It would be greatly appreciated if someone could please get me started with an example of how to correctly open and build one of the example projects (as in which buttons to click to make it work), and any settings that I need to get up and running?

Thanks in advance,

Matt
AC21 (8002 AUS FULL) | AC24 (7000 AUS FULL)| Windows 10 Pro | Intel Core i7-12700 @ 2.1GHz | 32GB RAM | NVidia T1000
7 REPLIES 7
Ralph Wessel
Mentor
mcjh_matt wrote:
The documentation says that all the examples should build in Visual Studio 2005 Express, but I can't find anywhere exactly how to build them (coming from a beginners point of view)
The documentation calls for Microsoft Visual C++ .NET 2005. I don't know if Express will do the same job, but I haven't tried to make it work either.
Ralph Wessel BArch
Matt Balaam
Enthusiast