19 hours ago
Every now and then I will be working in a file and hit ctrl-S to save and 'Save As' will come up instead. I can't 'Save As' to overwrite the original file because it tells me it is in use, so my only option if to save the file with a new file name.
This obviously isn't the end of the world, but it means I end up with two, or sometimes even three versions of the same file, which is annoying when they become large files. I am always hesitant to delete the old versions in case the 'Save As' thing has been triggered by some fault in the file.
Anybody else have this issue? If so, did you find a way to stop it happening?
Operating system used: Windows 11
15 hours ago - last edited 15 hours ago
Are you working on a file stored on your computer, a network location, or on the cloud?
If you are working from a network location, check your connection timeout settings.
If you are working from a cloud location, it may lock the file each time it syncs which may clash with your Data Safety & Integrity settings or save timing. It is recommended to not do this, as even if it does not do the previous, it can cause sync errors.
Ling.
| AC22-29 AUS 3200 | Help Those Help You - Add a Signature |
| Self-taught, bend it till it breaks | Creating a Thread |
| Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 | Win11 | 7800X3D | 32GB | RTX5070TI |
14 hours ago
By chance are you opening the .bpn (Back-up Plan)?
I'm just suggesting this because we were getting it far too often here until I realized not everyone has Show file extensions turned on in Windows explorer.
14 hours ago
I really wish bpn files were a hidden file type by default...
| AC22-29 AUS 3200 | Help Those Help You - Add a Signature |
| Self-taught, bend it till it breaks | Creating a Thread |
| Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 | Win11 | 7800X3D | 32GB | RTX5070TI |