Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

CARD COMPATIBILITY

Anonymous
Not applicable
-noob here-

i couldn't find this particular graphics card in the Database, & i was looking to purchase this particular one.

XFX GeForce 8600 GT

is this one compatible? i think we use an 8500 in the office, & i was looking to get a similar one at home. i would think that since it's a higher model, it would obviously be compatible.

i wouldn't want to waste money on something to improve ArchiCAD on my computer, only to find out it wasn't compatible with the program.

by the way, when they say 'compatible', when a graphics card doesn't work with AC, is there anyway to make it compatible? i dont know how it works, but dont you download an additional driver or something?

thanks,
Gerry
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable
It's a great video card and will work just fine- you don't need to do anything except put it in the computer and install the operating system drivers (from Nvidia, not any 3rd party application software, such as for this software).

The 8600 is a nice card- but the 7900 will be faster if you can find it.
Unless AC 12 goes to DirectX10 only, no need for the 8xxx series video cards- they simply don't do enough to justify their cost, not when a good used or older 7900+ (7995 GTX or so) desktop card can be obtained at 1/2 the cost, delivering 95% the same results roughly (you'd have to have both cards side by side to even perceive the differences between a 7600 and an 8600, if any)!!!!!
Anonymous
Not applicable
Oh...

p.s. Just a bit of more info, FYI