cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Libraries & objects
About Archicad and BIMcloud libraries, their management and migration, objects and other library parts, etc.

What is current best workflow for parametrizing a manufacturer's 2D drawing

Paul King
Mentor

I routinely import dwg files from manufacturers, and routinely need elements within them to stretch, rotate, switch on or off, change pens, fills etc, with geometry changes preferably handled in a stretchy way where possible  - in other words to act as library objects.

The problem is that even though I have some GDL background (now very rusty), I have always found it prohibitively time consuming whenever I attempt to make highly parametric 2D objects from complex supplied imported linework using GDL.  Frankly, I seldom get past using fragments to switch simple alternatives on or off (which is time consuming enough) 

Now that there are supposed user friendly alternatives to GDL  (Param-o and Library Part Maker) what is best practice workflow these days for anyone wanting to speedily convert thousands of imported small line segments into a useful parametric 2D object, with individually stretchy components?

PAUL KING | https://www.prime.net.nz
ArchiCAD 8-27 | Twinmotion 2023
Windoze 11 PC | Intel Core i9 10900K | Nvidia Gforce RTX 3080 | 32 Gb DDR3 | 2x4K monitor extended desktop
6 REPLIES 6
Erwin Edel
Rockstar

What kind of elements are they?

The only thing we generally have to import are window frame profiles (steel, PVC or aluminium) and we just have unstretchable library parts for typical connection assemblies. You end up with a slightly larger library of parts, but no real GDL scripting required beyond making sure you can't alter the size by accident.