cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
2024 Technology Preview Program

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

ArchiCAD for construction purposes??

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi all!

I just joined this forum and I work at a large civil engineering company in Sweden (www.ncc.se). I have been working with ArchiCAD for several years by now mostly in R&D projects since we are deeply stuck in the 2D Autocad mud. I wonder if there are any people on this forum that uses ArchiCAD for constructional purposes rather than Architectural? I'm struggling to spread the 3D advantages and most people are interested but there's no real real life examples that ArchiCAD can be used instead of or together with Autocad when doing the construction design of a building. None of my fellow engineers get really impressed when I show them a CD filled with nice GDL-objects of furniture or plants... They want concrete stuff, steel structures etc etc... So...if you have any experience in using ArchiCAD for building construction please answer this thread or send an e-mail to me.

BTW. I use ArchiCAD 8, ArtLantis 4.0, AutoCAD 2002, 3DSViz and occasionally the marvellous Rhino.

Best regards,

Mats Knutsson
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable
Mats wrote:
They want concrete stuff, steel structures etc etc...

Even if working in 2D, you could develop good tools for the draftsmen...

I don't know the value of this, but you can find such tools at :
http://www.archiradar.com/eng/objects/03lista.htm
Djordje
Ace
Mats wrote: