Choose your top Archicad wishes!

Read more
Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Displaying stairs in plan properly

Anonymous
Not applicable
I'm really new to this and need help in getting Archicad to display the plan view properly on a stair meeting a sloping wall. I've attached a simple demo of what I mean. HELP!

Archicad 12AUS, XP
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable
SEO the stair with the wall. Then save the stair as LibPart. Remove the old stair.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Couldn't resist - I run into this problem all the time!

Kliment, I agree with your technique, with the following exception...

No need to save the stair separately. Just make the stair wide enough to reach across the stair well's widest point, do the solid element operation and leave it as-is. Just sayin'.

I haven't encountered this particular situation in AC12 yet. On AC9, I'd actually make a slab to use as the cut body, do the SEO, then place the slab on a 'scratch' layer I keep turned off (unless I need to see it for revision). That way, if the skewed wall moves, I can just edit the slab I used and it's up-to-date without any saving or reloading of library parts. This was necessary, of course, because in AC9 I couldn't SEO 'beyond' the back side of the wall. I know they've changed this vertically in AC12 (which is REALLY cool!! used it today!), but not sure if it works 'laterally' (didn't notice / try.. will have to look and see).

My two cents.
Anonymous
Not applicable
Dag nabbit....

Just noticed in the picture the wall is CANTED. Okay... Use a mesh instead of slab as the cut body. Then the wall's sloped face can be duplicated.

Doh!

That's going to look spacey in real-world... I love it.
Laszlo Nagy
Community Admin
Community Admin
No matter how you cut the Wall with the Stair in 3D, you will still have to use Lines/Fills to achieve the 2D look of the Stair you are after.