Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

How do you create a "dutch hip", aka "Boston

Anonymous
Not applicable
Afternoon everyone!

Edit: Using ArchiCAD 10

I'm currently studying Architecture, in my 2nd year. From the 2nd semester (july-december) I have to start working in ArchiCAD. They are offering an ArchiCAD class at the beginning of the semester, but I'd like to get a head start. Currently using the computers in our department, as they have ArchiCAD installed (on campus on a Sunday, dedicated yeah? )

I've worked through the ArchiCAD video tutorials, thus I have a grasp of the basic functions of the program.

I'm trying to create a dutch hip, I've also seen it called a Boston hip, but can't get it right. I've tried using the polygonal roof tool to create the roof, but it just leaves an empty space where the "gambrel" should be.

I am attaching a jpeg file of the type of roof I want to create, this was done in a simple 2d CAD system.

Could You please provide me with a step by step guide on how to create this hip? I'd also like to know how to add the fascia as shown in the jpeg file. I've been struggling with this roof the whole day, so I would GREATLY appreciate it if You could help me!

Thank you in advance!

Kind Regards
Renier

dutch hip_0001.jpg
7 REPLIES 7
David Maudlin
Rockstar
Renier:

1. Set the roof tool the default values (slope, height, etc) for the roof you want to create.
2. Select the roof tool and set the geometry method to Polyroof, hold down the spacebar to get the magic wand, and click on the outside face of the wall. This will create a series of hip roofs that follow the walls.