Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Next Version of Archicad?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I am new to archicad. It seems AC 8.1 has been out for over a year. When will the next version be due and will it be 8.5 or 9.0. Just curious.
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable
I am sure we are all curious about this and any information would be widely appreciated, but this topic belongs in a different forum (probably "ArchiCAD+").
Djordje
Ace
Matthew wrote:
I am sure we are all curious about this and any information would be widely appreciated, but this topic belongs in a different forum (probably "ArchiCAD+").
Quite so ... and, those who know cannot say. So be patient.

I always preferred maintenance releases (I remember 5.0 had 12!) to "new" versions. Rushing a version out is very dangerous ... we all remember 8.0, don't we? 😉
Djordje

ArchiCAD since 4.55 ... 1995
HP Omen
Anonymous
Not applicable
Here in the UK Graphisoft about a year or so ago Graphisoft UK brought out a (UAS)Upgrade advantage scheme where you pay a set amount every year and receive free upgrades and support.

To be able to determine whether this scheme is value for money one would have to question how often the programme would receive a major upgrade.

A year or 2 ago GS indicated that a major upgrade would happen every 18 months or so. I understand that AC is not going to be upgraded this summer 2004 which is 18 months after the release the ill fated version 8.0.0 (approx Dec 2002). Therefore I for one am glad that I didnt sign up to the upgrade scheme, Thankfully GS still allow users to upgrade as and when they want from any version with a one off fee as a point upgrade.

Food for thought!
stefan
Expert