Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

The Roof of I–House Katsufumi Kubota

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello Everyone.
I am very new to Archicad and I have been told to model this i-house to learn the ropes.

I have got the walls, slab, glass etc but I cannot for the life of me get the roof and back wall (one piece)?

Any guidance at all would be greatly appreciated.
Should I make the shape in another program and import it as an object?

The roof has many strange angles on the edges and from bottom to top.

Picture can be found here and if you are keen it is called the i-house and it is under Works>House>i-House on this website
http://www.katsufumikubota.jp/html/index-e.html

Thankyou very much for your help.

Miked
12 REPLIES 12
David Maudlin
Rockstar
Miked:

You will want to use two features to model this wall & roof. First, create the profiled form of the wall/roof with a Complex Profile Element, then after placing this element in the model, cut out parts of this element with Solid Element Operations (SEO).

For more information with images, go to Help > ArchiCAD Help, when your browser opens click on the "Search" tab, and input "Complex Profile Element" in the search box, in the results list "Creating or Editing a Complex Profile Element" will lead to detailed information, then input "Solid Element Operations" in the search box, in the results list "About Solid Element Operations" will again lead to detailed information. You can also use these terms to search this forum, these are common issues.

You should add a Signature to your Profile (click the Profile button near the top of this page) with your ArchiCAD version and operating system (see mine for an example) for more accurate help in this forum.

HTH

David