BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Collaboration with other software
About model and data exchange with 3rd party solutions: Revit, Solibri, dRofus, Bluebeam, structural analysis solutions, and IFC, BCF and DXF/DWG-based exchange, etc.

Point cloud fast and then slow

DenisUser
Booster

Hey!

I am new to Archicad. Now started working on my first point cloud. At first glance everything was fine. I imported the cloud and moved it closer to the origin point as the cloud was connected with real coordinates and was far away. Set up its height, rotated it, and set "override floor plan display range" to see the floor plan cut. All was fine and the cloud is not big. It was a little bit sluggish in 3D view, but it was still fast. It was fast in elevations, floor plan, and section view.

I basically just started working on it (did not even model anything yet) and it started becoming very slow and sluggish. To the point that it takes about 2-3 seconds (sometimes longer) for Archicad to load my every pan and orbit Like it is choking itself somehow. And sometimes it starts working fast again and then goes again into this choking state. Restarting sometimes helps, but it happens again. What could cause such a thing? If there are periods when it is fast and quite smooth then why it starts to choke itself?

I have tried it with no other programs running, with just 1 Archicad tab open and I look at my GPU and CPU performance in task manager and it does not even go above 20%, RAM is at 25%. My SSD is not full. I have set the NVIDIA control panel to the best performance, CPU power management is in the minimal state at 100%, and set Archicad to high priority in the task manager. The laptop seems to be clearly using an RTX card, not the Intel one. And this does not change anything.

I have Archicad 26, Windows 11 Pro, Dell Precision 7560 laptop (64GB RAM, i7-11850H, RTX A4000).

Any suggestions?