BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

CW components compatibility

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hello,
I am looking for a solution for my curtain wall elements problem. I've created some components of CW (mullions, transoms, panels) and they are working fine, but my idea is that they would read parameters from one another. E.g. if I change panel so it would have width = 54.8, then mullions and transoms clamp width should also switch to 54.8. It should work also for several more parameters, which are custom for that specific CW system. Could I use any query or request to do that? I apologize if the question is basic, but I am quite new to GDL and I run out of ideas to test.
I would be grateful for any hints!
Best regards!
10 REPLIES 10
Lingwisyer
Guru
You could possibly output the figures of each object to various text files which are then read by all of the other objects? I have not worked with this aspect of GDL so I am not sure how you would go about doing it. These objects would not automatically update though with each object needing to be re-initialised.

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
Anonymous
Not applicable
Thank you for the answer! That might be another option, I will try.
Lingwisyer wrote:
These objects would not automatically update though with each object needing to be re-initialised.
I was hoping that since CW components are managed from one common tool Curtain Wall, then all components are refreshed after setting parameters by user, even to just one of them - all are refreshed. So it is not working that way?
Lingwisyer
Guru