BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

GDL
About building parametric objects with GDL.

GDL: Refresh Array Width on Code Modification

Lingwisyer
Guru

Hi all,

When you change the width of an array parameter, this change is not passed onto existing objects resulting in them failing to generate as they return an "invalid array width" error. Is there a way to get around this without having to delete all of the relevant parameters, reload all the objects, then recreate the parameters with their new array widths?

Ling.

AC22-23 AUS 7000Help Those Help You - Add a Signature
Self-taught, bend it till it breaksCreating a Thread
Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 Win10 | R5 2600 | 16GB | GTX1660
3 REPLIES 3
runxel
Legend

You can always select all respective objects and then "Reset to Default Settings". This fixes it.

Obviously now everything else is reset, too.

Other thing would be to write a migration script which would preserve all other settings, but writing those is tedious.

So, its "pick your poison".

Lucas Becker | AC 27 on Mac | Author of Runxel's Archicad Wiki | Editor at SelfGDL | Developer of the GDL plugin for Sublime Text |
«Furthermore, I consider that Carth... yearly releases must be destroyed»
Joachim Suehlo
Advisor

I use 2 different approaches:
a) If the array-size is not dynamically, I write e.g.:

IF VARDIM1(array) < yx THEN

FOR i = VARDIM1(array) TO no_array
PARAMETERS array[i] = "..."
NEXT i
b) If the array size  is dynamically I add an update checkbox

and let the Parameter-Script run once with GLOB_MODPAR_NAME.
After this the update checkbox disappears.

Joachim Suehlo . AC12-27 . MAC OSX 13.5 . WIN11
GDL object creation: b-prisma.de
DGSketcher
Legend

I wish there was greater clarity on Array definitions and how they react in certain situations.