Tuesday
Every now and then I will be working in a file and hit ctrl-S to save and 'Save As' will come up instead. I can't 'Save As' to overwrite the original file because it tells me it is in use, so my only option if to save the file with a new file name.
This obviously isn't the end of the world, but it means I end up with two, or sometimes even three versions of the same file, which is annoying when they become large files. I am always hesitant to delete the old versions in case the 'Save As' thing has been triggered by some fault in the file.
Anybody else have this issue? If so, did you find a way to stop it happening?
Operating system used: Windows 11
Tuesday - last edited Tuesday
Are you working on a file stored on your computer, a network location, or on the cloud?
If you are working from a network location, check your connection timeout settings.
If you are working from a cloud location, it may lock the file each time it syncs which may clash with your Data Safety & Integrity settings or save timing. It is recommended to not do this, as even if it does not do the previous, it can cause sync errors.
Ling.
| AC22-29 AUS 3200 | Help Those Help You - Add a Signature |
| Self-taught, bend it till it breaks | Creating a Thread |
| Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 | Win11 | 7800X3D | 32GB | RTX5070TI |
Tuesday
By chance are you opening the .bpn (Back-up Plan)?
I'm just suggesting this because we were getting it far too often here until I realized not everyone has Show file extensions turned on in Windows explorer.
Tuesday
I really wish bpn files were a hidden file type by default...
| AC22-29 AUS 3200 | Help Those Help You - Add a Signature |
| Self-taught, bend it till it breaks | Creating a Thread |
| Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 | Win11 | 7800X3D | 32GB | RTX5070TI |
Wednesday
Or even just a very visibly different icon! Kind of like the way it used to be! 😂
Wednesday - last edited yesterday
My bpn files show the project info embedded image, while the pln files show the default program icon...
| AC22-29 AUS 3200 | Help Those Help You - Add a Signature |
| Self-taught, bend it till it breaks | Creating a Thread |
| Win11 | i9 10850K | 64GB | RX6600 | Win11 | 7800X3D | 32GB | RTX5070TI |
yesterday
I have the same problem now and then. I believe it is ome lag either on my computer or more likely on our local server. Now I usually abort the safe as and wait a few minuters and then it is usually possible to save again as normal.