cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Starting August 6, 2024, TLS 1.2 will be the minimum required protocol version for Graphisoft products and services that require an online connection. Learn more…
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

1920x1080 OR 1920x1200?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm looking for a monitor to use as a dual setup along with my 17" Macbook Pro. I have stumbled upon a debate wether to go with the 1920x1080 monitor or 1920x1200 monitor. The 1920x1080 is a lot cheaper than the other one but I hear from a few people that this resolution isn't as practical because it does not have a high enough vertical value (i.e too letterbox like)

I wanted to see what other CAD users thought of this view because the reasons I'm getting a external monitor is soley for the use of ArchiCAD. Being as I'm a student I obviously want the cheapest option (by cheap I mean lower price, not poor quality) and so I have found a few very,very good Samsung monitor for £170 for a 24" 1920x1080. The lowest price I have seen a 1920x1200 monitor is £270, again with a Samsung.

I value any input regarding this, as I'm sure a lot of people on here also have a similar setup as me or have too faced this scenario.

Thank You
11 REPLIES 11
Gerald Hoffman
Enthusiast
My own view is I would if at all possible get the higher resolution. I have a Laptop (not Mac) which has native resolution of 1920 X 1200 and I run an external 24" monitor with the same resolution in the office. I think the extra height is very helpful because of the toolbars and object info along the top. It would significantly reduce your drawing screen with the 1080 vertical height.

Cheers,
Gerald Hoffman
“The simplification of anything is always sensational” GKC
Archicad 4.55 - 27-5030 USA
2019 MacBook Pro (64GB w/ AMD Radeon Pro 5600M GPU)
Anonymous
Not applicable