BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024
Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!
Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

ArhchiCAD on new iMacs (2012)

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, would be grateful for any advice on choosing a new iMac (27") to run ArchiCAD 16 (Solo) on. I'm currently working off a 5 year old 17" iMac Core2Duo, so anything new is probably going to run like a dream in comparison. I plan to get one of the new iMac 27" coming out (hopefully) in a couple of weeks time. I am still fairly new to AC (1 year) and my models are currently fairly non-complex / small files, but that might change over time. I would like the new Mac to last 3-4 years. I will add extra RAM (16GB)

Specifically can anyone tell me if which of the following upgrade options will make any real noticeable difference to ArchiCAD performance.

Processor - 2.9GHz quad-core Intel Core i5, or 3.2Ghz i5? or 3.4 GHz Core i7?
Memory card - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M (512MB) or GeForce GTX 675MX with 1GB? or GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB?
Hard Drive - upgrade to Fusion Drive?

Thanks for any advice.
12 REPLIES 12
Stephen Dolbee
Booster
Hi Dan,
I have had a 27" iMac for three years and still feel like it has plenty of power. I upgraded to the i7, but not sure if that was necessary (no way to compare). I tend to go for the upgrades just because you can't later, and if it helps extend the life of the machine probably justifies the extra cost. The Fusion drive sounds great, but no prices yet?
AC19(9001), 27" iMac i7, 12 gb ram, ATI Radeon HD 4850 512mb, OS 10.12.6
Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi Dan:

I too would like to buy a new 27" iMac and am trying to decide on the options:

-$200 to upgrade from the Core i5 3.6 GHz to the i7 3.9 GHz

-$250 to upgrade from a 1TB 7200 ATA drive to the 1TB Fusion Drive

$150 to upgrade from a GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB GDDR5
to a GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5.