Installation & update
About program installation and update, hardware, operating systems, setup, etc.

New MacMini M2 announced by Apple.

dcerezo
Advocate

Apple today announced the new Mac mini with an M2 chip. At hundreds of dollars cheaper than the Mac Studio (with older M1 chips), I'm wondering in ArchiCAD would work on the Mini. I'm not a hardware expert by any stretch, but does anyone here have any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

ArchiCAD 26 - iMac 27, Late 2019, 3.7 GHz Intel Core i5, 32GB Ram, Radeon Pro 8GB, macOS Sonoma
14 REPLIES 14
Karl Ottenstein

It should definitely run Archicad... and presumably better with the M2 Pro model.  But, do note that even though the Mini has the M2  or M2 Pro... the Studio has the M1 Max or M1 Ultra with specs that should outperform the mini with M2 Pro by a wide margin, with many more GPU cores, and vastly faster memory bandwidth (400GB/s or 800GB/s on the Studio vs 100 GB/s to 200 GB/s for the Mini)

https://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/

https://www.apple.com/mac-studio/specs/

Also note that there is an M2 Max already... but it is not available for the Mini ... only for the newly announced 14" and 16" MacBook Pros.

By the time you configure a mini to be apples to apples (as much as you can) to a Studio, the cost savings is only about $200 for potentially significantly less performance (if you match the memory and the 10GB ethernet).

I would wait at least a few weeks for some benchmarks to be released...

P.S.  Note, too, that the Ultra has active cooling while the Mini does not.  So, besides the Mini being limited to the Pro chip - vs Max/Ultra - there could potentially still be heat throttling at times in the Mini.  Again, only a bit of time for some benchmarks to be run will tell us...

Edit: Thanks to @justdhruv for pointing out that the Mini does in fact have active cooling (fan blowing through heatsink).

One of the forum moderators