BIM Coordinator Program (INT) April 22, 2024

Find the next step in your career as a Graphisoft Certified BIM Coordinator!

Licensing
About all sorts of licenses, their management, Graphisoft ID, Graphisoft Store, License Manager Tool, etc.

Help with an assignment

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi there,

I'm new to Archicad and although I'm learning it as part of my course, the support is woeful at best. I've done reasonably well in learning the basics (I think!). However, there is something I'm stuck on and I was wondering if someone could help me....I know how to do it in AutoCAD but don't know how to do it in Archicad!

Basically my assignment is to build a house. Now, I've learned the basics of how to build the house (i.e. how to build the walls, create storeys etc) but I'm not sure how to show the interaction between the walls and the floors - particularly the first floor and the roof.

I've found an article which was talking about solid element operations but didn't really understand it. I've asked my tutor but he wasn't very helpful and mentioned something about creating details.

Now, I understand how the house is constructed, I just don't know how to draw it in ArchiCAD. Can someone write me an idiot's step by step guide as to how to do this by using the detail tool? It's driving me crazy and I would greatly appreciate it. I only want to do a very simple first floor and roof junction - nothing fancy. If I create a detail of the intermediate floor junction with the walls, will this adjust the 3D model accordingly? One of the tasks is to create a section through the 3D model so I want to make sure the construction vaguely works...

I would really appreciate any advice or help you guys could give me. I've been stressing about it for weeks - it's so hard sometimes to learn a programme from just reading documents/articles.

Ash
3 REPLIES 3
Dwight
Newcomer
In Great Britain they use mud, tiny rocks and twigs to build so it should be easy.