Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2024 Technology Preview Program:
Master powerful new features and shape the latest BIM-enabled innovations

Modeling
About Archicad's design tools, element connections, modeling concepts, etc.

Copy & Paste and objects remain selected in version 9 ?

Anonymous
Not applicable
I thought the documentation of version 9 stated that objects once pasted "the copies remain selected" "leaving the original unselected" . Not having the objects that I pasted not selected after I pasted them was a thorn in my side. I really thought this problem was solved with the upgrade to 9. Am I missing something that I should toggle on for this feature to work?
13 REPLIES 13
Thomas Holm
Booster
Matthew, I'm no expert like you. I have to admit (blushing) that I wasn't aware of this. It's of course a HUGE enhancement to AC7, in which I worked until a couple of weeks ago.

But still. This way I have to remember key combinations, I have to use both hands like in Autocad of old, and I have to remember the right order to click on things to make it work. As an example of the mistakes possible, when i was testing your suggestion, I by mistake started by command-clicking a line. The line of course disappeared, because this is the shortcut for Trim.

If you think about what I described of how Microstation works, you might see what I mean. The dual functionality (verb-noun and noun-verb) lets you click away one-handedly without thinking too much. It just works.

Microstation has many drawbacks, but there are things for Graphisoft too look at, like this detail. Also: great use of multi-threading (on 68K Macs!), several customizable simultaneously active windows/views on the model, and non-modal dialogs wherever possible. 'Nuff said. I wouldn't buy it today, but in the early nineties, they had good programmers.
AC4.1-AC26SWE; MacOS13.5.1; MP5,1+MBP16,1
Djordje
Ace
kevin wrote: